City MP’s modern-day suffrage sash winners announced

Stephen Morgan congratulates winners of schools’ competition to design sashes celebrating 100 years since women won the vote

Four Portsmouth schoolgirls were today celebrated in a ceremony at Stephen Morgan MP’s constituency office to mark the final round of his competition to design a suffragette sash for the 21st century.

The contest was launched as part of the MP’s Vote100 Portsmouth campaign, a series of events and schemes encouraging female engagement in public life and campaigning for democratic equality 100 years after women first won the vote.

The winners had their sash designs very kindly printed by local Southsea business Seadog Print Studio and will have them displayed in the Houses of Parliament over the coming months.

Sashes from runners-up can already be seen displayed in the window of Stephen’s office in Albert Road.

The competition was judged by Stephen Morgan MP, Superintendent Maggie Blyth, Jo Bushnell from Aspex Gallery, and Deborah Sugg Ryan, Professor of Design, History and Theory at the University of Portsmouth.


Eva Rose Pinnock, Craneswater Junior School

Annalee MacFarlane, Portsmouth High School

Runners Up

Lilly Bullman, Harbour School

Nellie Fraser, Fernhurst Junior School

Stephen Morgan MP, said:

“This is a historic year for our country. We need to celebrate the progress women have made in our politics, but also harness this moment to advance the change we still desperately need to see.

The sash competition combined these aims perfectly and I was so pleased with the response we got from local schools. I also want to thank Seadog Print Studio for bringing the sashes to life.

I want to congratulate, Eva, Analee, and all those who entered for their fantastic designs and for showing that the suffragette spirit is alive and well in our city.”